New Jersey Scrap Laws

ASSEMBLY, No. 3222

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 215th LEGISLATURE
INTRODUCED JULY 30, 2012

According to New Jersey scrap laws, dealers must maintain records for five years of transactions of more than $50 or 100 pounds, which must include a copy of the seller's driver's license and a description of the materialpurchased.   A five-day tag-and-hold policy isin place when notified by the police.

 If you have questions, please contact our New Jersey Compliance Specialist with PopScrap by filling out our online form or calling 888-440-8858.  Click HERE to find out if you are fully compliant.

SYNOPSIS     Revises law concerning the purchase of scrap metal.
 
CURRENT VERSION OF TEXT    

 As introduced.

AN ACT concerning the purchase of scrap metal and amending P.L.2009, c.8.
 
     BE IT ENACTED by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey:
 
     1.    Section 2 of P.L.2009, c.8 (C.45:28-2) is amended to read as follows:
     2.    The operator of a scrap metal business shall:
     a.     Verify the identity of any person delivering or selling scrap metal to the scrap metal business by requesting and examining a photograph-bearing, valid State or federal driver's license or other government-issued form of identification bearing a photograph;
     b.    Make a clear copy of, and record, in a manner as may be prescribed by the Attorney General, the number of the driver's license or other government-issued form of identification presented by the person delivering or selling the scrap metal, before receiving or purchasing any scrap metal from that person;
     c.     Maintain, for at least five years, a record of all receipts or purchases of scrap metal [in excess of 100 pounds or $50, whichever is less], including, but not limited to:
     (1)   the date of receipt or purchase of the scrap metal;
     (2)   the name and address of the person delivering or selling the scrap metal;
     (3)   the type and number of the identification presented by the person delivering or selling the scrap metal, along with a copy of the driver's license or other government-issued form of identification;
     (4)   a description of the scrap metal received or purchased, including, but not limited to its type, amount, and form;
     (5)   the signature of the person delivering or selling the scrap metal; [and]
     (6)   the license plate of the motor vehicle delivering the scrap metal, pursuant to subsection f. of this section; and
     (7)   any other information as may be required by the Attorney General; [and]
     d.    Make any records maintained pursuant to subsection c. of this section available, upon request, to any law enforcement agency or official investigating the possible theft or resale of scrap metals, and send copies of all records maintained pursuant to subsection c. of this section to the appropriate law enforcement agency at the close of each business day;
     e.     Make payment to the person delivering or selling the scrap metal only by non-transferable check made payable to that person, to be mailed to either:
     (1)   the address recorded pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection c. of this section; or
     (2)   the address on the driver's license or other government-issued form of identification copied and recorded pursuant to subsection b. of this section; and
     f.     Accept delivery of scrap metal by motor vehicle only, and record the license plate number of any motor vehicle which is used to deliver scrap metal.
(cf: P.L.2009, c.8, s.2)
 
     2.    This act shall take effect on the 90th day next following enactment.
 
STATEMENT
     This bill, which amends P.L.2009, c.8 (C.45:28-1 et seq.), requires scrap metal businesses to maintain, for at least five years, a record of all receipts or purchases of scrap metal, instead of only for those purchases in excess of 100 pounds or $50, as currently provided by law.  This bill also requires that scrap metal businesses make payment to any person delivering or selling scrap metal only by non-transferable check made payable to that person, to be mailed to an address provided by that person as required pursuant to existing law.
     The bill requires scrap metal businesses to send copies of all records maintained pursuant to law to the appropriate law enforcement agency at the close of each business day.  Under the bill, scrap metal businesses may accept delivery of scrap metal by motor vehicle only, and must record the license plate number of any motor vehicle which is used to deliver scrap metal.

PopScrap - Compliance Made Simple

PopScrap-logo200

PopScrap provides software and compliance services to help scrap recyclers become fully compliant in New Jersey and improve overall business operations helping to control costs in a number of ways.  If you would like to learn more about how PopScrap can help your recycle and scrap business with affordable compliance and scrap yard management solutions, please fill out our online form or call us directly at 888-440-8858 to speak with a scrap and recycling compliance specialist today!
To find out if your scrap yard is compliant with New Jersey State law, fill out our Scrap Yard Compliance Tool

 

Contact Us

If you want more information fill in this form or call us directly at +1(888)440-8858. You will be contacted as soon as possible.
Please fill in all required fields.
By submitting this form, you accept our privacy policy.
captcha
Reload

LEGAL DISCLAIMER:

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation.

Try PopScrap FREE!

Why PopScrap?

  • Advanced TechnologyTechnology +

    Move into the cloud and away from outdated server based systems.  Take Control of your scrap business
  • AffordabilityDemo Copy +

    Eliminating outdated server based technology, along with implimenting the latest highly reliable cloud based solutions means affordability! 
  • 1

PROMO VIDEO

Search Scrap Laws

TECHNICAL SUPPORT